Ways

What a semester I have been having! Between involvement with chaplaincy at Occupy Portland, 8 credits of schoolwork, being a Teacher’s Assistant and Homemaker I am not sure if I am coming or going. Despite my busyness I have still been making time in my schedule for reflection. My reflection more and more is finding expression in poetry. My most recent poem comes from reflecting on this crazy journey that will be drawing to an end at the end of the Spring semester.

Ways

I am changing in ways
I did not know I could through
Work in my soul at depths I cannot reach
Alone

You are forming me in ways
I do not grasp because of their complexity
There are processes of life giving at work in me changing
Everything inside

I am growing at the deepest level in ways
Of roots breaking up the dark soil of my composted pain
New life sprouting from old blood seeping into thirsty darkness
Searching for anesthesia

You face the pain of loss and rage with me in ways
Of compassion that break through my bleak cynical barriers and
Walls of stone around my heart protecting me from pain and you and love
That I am afraid to let fall away

You have drug me out of myself and welcomed me to walk in ways
That open heart to the beauty of your world the beauty of your image that
Sits within every face I see overwhelming me with you every time eyes look into mine
Your presence beyond me within me is life

Creative Commons License
Ways by Gilbert L George is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at extrovertedquaker.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://extrovertedquaker.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

