Flame on the Hearth – New poem

Flame on the Hearth 

by Gil George

In the silence I wait

For the rushing whirlwind of my thoughts

To calm and find rest

In the center, the eye of the storm

I find a still, small, voice

That’s opens me to the darkest depths

Of all that I am or would be

A new storm rises

A whirlwind of fresh fire

Propelling me out of my seat to speak

Words that come from the calm center

That drop from my lips like flames

Spreading sparks that move through

The gathered meeting

The words of the Spirit come back

From the center of others

Tempering my flame and

Reforming it to a new flame burning more brightly

And yet calm, the flame on the hearth calling me home

To the center

Where the Spirit of Love waits

Creative Commons License
Flame on the Hearth by Gil George is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at extrovertedquaker.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://extrovertedquaker.wordpress.com/.

One response to “Flame on the Hearth – New poem

  1. Reblogged this on The Emotion and Music and commented:
    The Emotion here is just captivating!

Leave a Reply

