Time for a Break – New poem

Time for a break

My mind whirrs in fruitless striving

As I try to make sense of turbulence

That surrounds my heart as I think

Of the arguments and incidents

Of things I desperately wish weren’t

Beyond my control

I throw barbed comments, and yes,

Sometimes accusations at God

Trying to make God feel bad enough

That a change in the struggles will be sent

That maybe I can dictate something

Different, a new story that shies away

From dark valleys

I grapple and wrestle trying to control

That which is beyond my ability to

Comprehend, let alone direct

Everything I do to try to maintain

A semblance of control only serves

To show how little control I really have

Over what matters most to me

My striving fails

I need to take a break from my efforts

To operate on my own strength alone

Can I really trust that which I can’t control?

I don’t know, but I desperately want to

But I can’t even control myself enough

To find a center in which I can listen

To anyone or anything that speaks

What I am straining to hear

Creative Commons License
Time for a Break by Gilbert George is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at extrovertedquaker.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://extrovertedquaker.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

