Being a Male Nurturer

Amy R. Buckley

Gil George-Male NurturerMy friend Amy Buckley asked me to share some of my process around being a stay-at-home dad/ male nurturer. I hope that this writing can be a good window into some of what it is like to be a male nurturer in American Christian culture.There are all these lists of things that make you a “real” man, a “biblical” man, or a “manly” man. All of these lists and cultural norms promote this distant “provider” figure who exerts authority and discipline over the whole family. These are the lists I heard growing up, and I died inside every time I heard them because I knew that I wasn’t that person.

I am a male nurturer; my gifts are the gifts of hospitality, generosity, mercy, and teaching. I love with depth and passion, and my dream work is to develop others’ gifts so they can grow as people and do God’s…

View original post 836 more words

3 responses to “Being a Male Nurturer

  1. You have a beautiful family. By the way, real men cook, just look at Food Network.

  2. I am so proud of your humility. To put yourself out there is wonderful. Your dad and i are blessed to have raised you

  3. Great article Gil. My sister and your children are blessed to have you.

Leave a Reply

